Where on Earth do I start??

17 Mar

Where do I start?

There is so so so much that I could write about. My trip was long but incredibly exciting. And exhausting. I went without eating for 10 hours or so and I didn’t even notice, until I was in the plane on the way to Playa Del Carmen from Mexico City and was given some bicuits as part of the refreshments and it suddenly struck me.

I had about 48 hours of flying time and mozeying around in airports in total.

It was such a relief when my ride arrived, I’m not sure I would have been able to take a bus and find where I was staying on my own in such a state of… how do I describe this? Floatiness. I was way past the point of being hungry, but knew I should eat, but didn’t want to buy expensive, stale snack-style airport food. So I was quite disorientated from this, jetlag, being on the super-high of being IN FREAKIN’ MEXICO! I wanted needed a meal.

Which is exactly what I got at about 7pm that evening!! It was fantabulous – I met up with the guy who picked me up and some other people that I’ll be travelling with for two weeks through Mexico. We walked straight past some restaurants that didn’t have many people in them and had staff out the front trying to lure people in by offering them menus, and went to a gorgeous, little, very mexican, packed one. It. Was. Sooooo good.

I have to say, the culture here is one of loveliness. Of being appreciative. With the certain madness of a developing country chucked in there too. Today, I loved the surpised, happy look on the local cornerstore’s checkout person’s face when I smiled and said “gracias” when he served me – I’m not even sure why he was surprised as there is a huge variety of people around here, many of whom speak at least some spanish. Perhaps he’s used to gringos not making the effort. However, that moment was special, because I have to be honest, I was so scared about coming here. It was intimidating to begin with, and overwhelming. I had absolutely no idea of what to expect. And to be honest, I wasn’t expecting everyone to be so helpful and warm as they really are.

What I’ve enjoyed a lot so far is walking around during the day. Out and about it’s mostly locals, as pretty much everyone just visiting here comes for the white sand and turquoise water of the beach. Being a (by comparison) very white and tall, lone young lady with naturally blonde hair, I do tend to get a fair bit more attention and than somebody who might blend in a little more effectively. For example, when I went for a hour(ish) walk to find somewhere to buy food today, every second person had a good look at me, not in a threatening manner, and some said “hola”. Another guy started a seedy conversation with me out of the window of his ute as he drove slowly alongside me before giving up a minute or two in (I can assure you this isn’t a socially approved practice here, the locals standing around and going about their business looked rather amused but ready to step in if it came down to it), a beggar man got up and asked me for a peso (he probably does that to everyone who walks past) and I got whilstled at a couple of times. But at no stage did I feel unsafe. I never felt that anyone was out to get me. More than negative attention there was positive, as much as I attempted and obviously failed at slinking around unnoticed.

I apologise for there not being photos, there is so so much I would like to show you, but I would feel like too much of a tourist, glaringly obvious, just too out of place if I were to pull my camera out at the restaurant, at the brain-taco stand, just generally around the streets and at the random local talent quest we stumbled upon walking through a park back to our hostels from the restaurant. I hope you understand my not wanting to be ‘that’ person. Lo siento.

I probably won’t get the chance to post very often, as my phone, which is how I’m accessing internet, is dieing and I don’t have a Mexico-appropriate converter.

We’ll see.

One Response to “Where on Earth do I start??”

  1. Rosie Crook March 19, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    I love your writing style, Cindy. I could imagine myself walking down the street with you! Sounds so incredible and I am so proud of you! I often catch myself wondering what you are doing at that moment. I always know you will be smiling! I miss you and love you xx
    Rosie C

Leave a Reply

